Introverts-Why I like being around them

introvertcomict

Those of you who know me personally know that I am anything but an introvert. I am archetype extrovert, to a fault. Yes, I a mean “a fault” literally. My extroversion sometimes gets carried away and to my hurt.

While I wouldn’t trade the core of my personality, I have strived to put in place some attributes that I admire in introverts. Throughout my career, some of my most productive collaborations and partnerships have been with introverts. While introverts can carry the attributes of that basic constitution to a fault that is not productive, there are also strengths.

Observation-Introverts are content to sit back and observe interactions and situations. They are not encumbered by thinking of what they are going to say but can observe with more attentiveness. This also manifests itself in patience that allows them to watch things play out before reaching a conclusion. As a result they often see situations with clarity.

Discretion-Because they are reluctant to speak and emote, introverts are naturally more discreet. Their motives, thoughts and desires are more mysterious. Secrets are better guarded. There is power in discretion.

Conciseness-Economy of speech renders more attention to when they do speak. Additionally, there tends to be more brevity and clarity in what is said.

Caution-This has saved me much grief. My partnerships with introverts has enhanced my success by adding caution to my enthusiasm. While my bold and aggressive actions have inspired introverts to action, their caution has acted as a great counterbalance to my potential impulsiveness.

While the above attributes do not come naturally to me, I make constant and conscious effort to add them to my life.

Both extroverts and introverts should evaluate the attributes of the other type and purposely work to incorporate the strengths that do not come naturally. More importantly, each should strive to build working relationships with the other type, even if they drive you crazy sometimes, to capitalize on your combined strengths.

This entry was posted in Leadership, Personal improvement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

